close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Colson WhiteheadL The Nickel Boys, a Novel

The Page Turners Book Club

2022-12-28 16:30:00 2022-12-28 17:30:00 America/New_York The Page Turners Book Club Parklands-Turner Neighborhood Library -

Wednesday, December 28
4:30pm - 5:30pm

Add to Calendar 2022-12-28 16:30:00 2022-12-28 17:30:00 America/New_York The Page Turners Book Club We'll be meeting in person to discuss Colson Whitehead's The Nickel Boys. Parklands-Turner Neighborhood Library -

We'll be meeting in person to discuss Colson Whitehead's The Nickel Boys.

NATIONAL BESTSELLER * In this Pulitzer Prize-winning follow-up to The Underground Railroad , Colson Whitehead brilliantly dramatizes another strand of American history through the story of two boys unjustly sentenced to a hellish reform school in Jim Crow-era Florida.

When Elwood Curtis, a black boy growing up in 1960s Tallahassee, is unfairly sentenced to a juvenile reformatory called the Nickel Academy, he finds himself trapped in a grotesque chamber of horrors. Elwood's only salvation is his friendship with fellow "delinquent" Turner, which deepens despite Turner's conviction that Elwood is hopelessly naive, that the world is crooked, and that the only way to survive is to scheme and avoid trouble. As life at the Academy becomes ever more perilous, the tension between Elwood's ideals and Turner's skepticism leads to a decision whose repercussions will echo down the decades.

All genres and readers are welcome. Reading the club selection is not a requirement to attend (just be forewarned that there will be spoilers). Titles will be decided by group members and a limited number of copies will be set aside at the Parklands-Turner Library.

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Book Club |

TAGS: | |

Parklands-Turner Neighborhood Library

parklandsturnerlibrary@dc.gov
Phone: 202-645-4532

Hours
Mon, Jan 30 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Jan 31 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Feb 01 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Feb 02 1:00PM to 9:00PM
Fri, Feb 03 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Feb 04 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Feb 05 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the library

Upcoming events

Rescheduled
Thu, Feb 02, 4:30pm - 5:15pm
New date Thursday, February 09, 4:30pm - 5:15pm

Sat, Feb 04, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Mon, Feb 06, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Mon, Feb 06, 10:00am - 7:55pm

Rescheduled
Mon, Feb 06, 10:00am - 8:00pm
New date Wednesday, February 01, 10:00am - 8:00pm

Tue, Feb 07, 10:30am - 11:00am

Tue, Feb 07, 4:30pm - 6:00pm

Tue, Feb 07, 4:30pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Feb 07, 7:00pm - 9:00pm

Wed, Feb 08, 4:30pm - 6:30pm

Thu, Feb 09, 4:30pm - 5:15pm

Tue, Feb 14, 10:30am - 11:00am

Tue, Feb 14, 4:30pm - 6:00pm

Wed, Feb 15, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Mon, Feb 20, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Tue, Feb 21, 10:30am - 11:00am

Tue, Feb 21, 4:30pm - 6:00pm

Tue, Feb 21, 7:00pm - 9:00pm

Wed, Feb 22, 4:30pm - 5:30pm

Tue, Feb 28, 10:00am - 8:55pm

Tue, Feb 28, 10:30am - 11:00am

Tue, Feb 28, 4:30pm - 6:00pm