close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: Middle Grade Book Club

Middle Grade Book Club

The Night Diary

2022-08-20 14:00:00 2022-08-20 15:00:00 America/New_York Middle Grade Book Club Southwest Neighborhood Library - Large Meeting Room (20-75 Person Capacity)

Saturday, August 20
2:00pm - 3:00pm

Add to Calendar 2022-08-20 14:00:00 2022-08-20 15:00:00 America/New_York Middle Grade Book Club Let's get lost in a book together! Southwest Neighborhood Library - Large Meeting Room (20-75 Person Capacity)

Southwest Neighborhood Library

Large Meeting Room (20-75 Person Capacity)

Let's get lost in a book together!

Join the Southwest Library as we read and discuss the award-winning middle grade novel The Night Diary by Veera Hiranandani.

This is a gripping historical fiction novel perfect for grades 5 through 8. Stop by the library to pick up a copy and join us to discuss the book on July 9th at 2PM!

From the publisher: 

It's 1947, and India, newly independent of British rule, has been separated into two countries: Pakistan and India. The divide has created much tension between Hindus and Muslims, and hundreds of thousands are killed crossing borders.

Half-Muslim, half-Hindu twelve-year-old Nisha doesn't know where she belongs, or what her country is anymore. When Papa decides it's too dangerous to stay in what is now Pakistan, Nisha and her family become refugees and embark first by train but later on foot to reach her new home. The journey is long, difficult, and dangerous, and after losing her mother as a baby, Nisha can't imagine losing her homeland, too. But even if her country has been ripped apart, Nisha still believes in the possibility of putting herself back together.

Told through Nisha's letters to her mother, The Night Diary is a heartfelt story of one girl's search for home, for her own identity...and for a hopeful future. 

--

Audiobook editions are also available online via Overdrive/Libby. For accessibility needs for this event, including an ASL interpreter, please contact DCPLaccess@dc.gov

AGE GROUP: | 5 - 12 Years Old |

EVENT TYPE: | Book Club |

TAGS: | |

Southwest Neighborhood Library

southwestlibrary@dc.gov
Phone: (202) 724-4298

Hours
Mon, Sep 26 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Tue, Sep 27 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Wed, Sep 28 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Sep 29 12:00PM to 8:00PM
Fri, Sep 30 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Oct 01 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Oct 02 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the library

Upcoming events

Sat, Oct 01, All day

Mon, Oct 03, 10:30am - 11:15am
Large Meeting Room (20-75 Person Capacity)

Tue, Oct 04, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Oct 04, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Thu, Oct 06, 1:00pm - 1:45pm

Thu, Oct 06, 4:00pm - 5:30pm

Thu, Oct 06, 4:00pm - 5:30pm

Fri, Oct 07, 10:30am - 11:30am

Mon, Oct 10, 10:30am - 11:15am
Large Meeting Room (20-75 Person Capacity)

Tue, Oct 11, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Thu, Oct 13, 4:00pm - 5:30pm

Fri, Oct 14, 10:30am - 11:30am

Fri, Oct 14, 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Large Meeting Room (20-75 Person Capacity)

Sat, Oct 15, All day

Sun, Oct 16, All day

Mon, Oct 17, 10:30am - 11:15am
Large Meeting Room (20-75 Person Capacity)

Tue, Oct 18, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Thu, Oct 20, 4:00pm - 5:30pm

Thu, Oct 20, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Large Meeting Room (20-75 Person Capacity)

Fri, Oct 21, 10:30am - 11:30am

Mon, Oct 24, 10:30am - 11:30am
Large Meeting Room (20-75 Person Capacity)

Tue, Oct 25, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Thu, Oct 27, 1:00pm - 1:45pm

Thu, Oct 27, 4:00pm - 5:30pm

Thu, Oct 27, 5:00pm - 7:30pm

Fri, Oct 28, All day

Fri, Oct 28, 10:30am - 11:30am

Sat, Oct 29, All day

Mon, Oct 31, 10:30am - 11:30am
Large Meeting Room (20-75 Person Capacity)

Mon, Oct 31, 4:00pm - 5:00pm